Monthly Archives: June 2015

An Update from Croatia

Members of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS), as part of its International Educational Outreach Program (IEOP), visited the University of Split in Croatia. The University Department of Forensic Science hosted a reception for the AAFS delegation. The delegation, together with Professor Dragan Primorac, received Professor Simon Anđelinović, Rector of the University of Split, and Professor […]

Legislative Alert from CFSO

On June 19th,  the Consortium of Forensic Science Organizations (CFSO) released an update on the status of financial legislation allocating funds to the forensic sciences. The release, which further explains the allocation and current status of the bill, may be downloaded as a PDF here. Congress is halfway through the budget process and the House has written its draft […]

AAFS IEOP 2015 – Destination Croatia!

IEOP 2015 Croatia Source:  Nancy Jackson, AAFS Director of Accreditation & Development Monday, June 15 – Day 1 Greetings from Zagreb! Travelers arrived safely in Croatia to warm temperatures and sunny skies. The travelers, Peter Ausili (Criminalistics), Moses Schanfield (Criminalistics), Robert Barsley (Odontology). John Gerns (General), Shaku Teas (Pathology/Biology), Danielle Ruttman (Jurisprudence) and I, along […]

July 2015 Odontology Section News

Source: Adam J. Freeman, DDS, Section Program Chair As you know, AAFS President Victor Weedn has selected the theme Transformation: Embracing Change for the 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting. This proves to be an appropriate theme as the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSACs) have been populated with well-qualified experts in […]

July 2015 Criminalistics Section News

Source: Kristy Kadash, PhD, Section Program Co-Chair As scientists, we appreciate that our fields are constantly evolving. New information leads to improved understanding of what evidence can tell us. And as scientists, we are accustomed to the process of peer and technical review before our results are presented. This provides an opportunity to double check […]

2015 Warren-Young Scholarship Recipient Announced

The Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) is pleased to announce the first winner of the 2015-16 FSF Warren-Young Scholarship:  Nancy Iaukea, MEd.  Ms. Iaukea is a science teacher at Pahoa High and Intermediate on the Big Island of Hawaii.  She teaches grades 7-12 in a community that has faced many challenges due to lack of infrastructure, public transportation, […]

July 2015 Anthropology Section News

Source: Angi M. Christensen, PhD, Section Secretary Angi Christensen, Nick Passalacqua, and Eric Bartelink are pleased to announce that their recent book, Forensic Anthropology: Current Methods and Practice, has received the “Most Promising New Textbook Award” from the Text and Academic Authors Association (TAAA). The award was conferred at the TAAA annual conference in June. […]

July 2015 Engineering Sciences News

Source: David Pienkowski, PhD, MBA, Section Program Chair It is time to begin abstract preparation for the 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting in Las Vegas. Those submitting abstracts are encouraged to adhere to the general rules for abstracts as found on the AAFS website. In addition to these general rules, please consider crafting the abstract so that […]

July 2015 Toxicology Section News

Source:  Sarah Kerrigan, PhD, Section Chair By now, we hope you are beginning to prepare for the upcoming AAFS Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, February 22-27, 2016. Section Program Chair Fiona Couper and Co-Chair Nikolas Lemos are hard at work assembling what is sure to be a spectacular program! This year, the section will be proposing […]

July 2015 Psychiatry & Behavioral Science News

Source: Dean De Crisce, MD, Section Secretary We are looking forward to creating a fantastic meeting this coming February 22-27, 2016, at the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas! The theme, chosen by AAFS President Victor Weedn, is Transformation: Embracing Change. As you know, the paper/poster submission is due by August 1, so […]

July 2015 General Section News

Source: Joanna L. Collins, MFS, Section Secretary While many of us are still sharing stories and pictures from Orlando, it is time to get serious about planning for the 2016 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, NV (February 22-27). The August 1 deadline for presentations will be here before you know it. Section Program Chair Steve […]

Warren-Young Scholarship and KISS

During the 2015 Annual Scientific Meeting, Academy members conducted an Evening Session entitled “Keep It Simple, Stupid.” Topics included Knowledge, Investigation, Sharing, and Spirit (ethics); to add a bit of whimsy, the panel dressed in authentic KISS costumes. Afterward, members of the audience who wished to have photos taken with the “KISS” presenters were asked […]

AAFS Policy Page

LEGISLATION Source: Victor W. Weedn, MD, JD, AAFS 2015-16 President At the end of May, the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations approved a $54.1 billion Fiscal Year (FY) 2016 Commerce, Justice, Science (CJS) appropriations bill that made significant cuts to several Department of Justice assistance programs for state, local, and tribal law enforcement […]

A Word From Your 2016 Program Co-Chair

Source: Julie A. Howe, MBA, 2016 Annual Meeting Program Co-Chair This is an exciting and challenging time for forensic science as substantive changes are being proposed for all disciplines with the formation of the National Commission on Forensic Science (NCFS) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSACs). […]

June 2015 President’s Message

As I look back at the past few months, there have been an unusual number of issues in forensic science which have garnered media attention including a series of articles on bitemark evidence, a study of FBI hair analysis cases disclosing a high proportion of errors, changes in the leadership of the Washington, DC, Department […]

AAFS Nominating Committee Report

The Nominating Committee has announced its list of nominees for the 2016-17 officers: Betty Layne DesPortes, JD, MS President-Elect (Jurisprudence) Jeri D. Ropero-Miller, PhD Vice President (Toxicology) John L. Young, MD  Vice President (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science) Susan M. Ballou, MS Secretary (Criminalistics) Zeno J. Geradts, PhD Treasurer (Digital & Multimedia Sciences) The Nominating Committee […]