Daily Archives: December 15, 2015

FSF Henry C. Lee Scholarship Winner Announced!

The Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) is pleased to announce the recipient of the FSF Henry C. Lee Scholarship! Mithun Rajshekar, MFSc (Odontology) of Hobart, Tasmania, was selected based on his abstract submission entitled, “Assessing the Reliability of Measurements of Human Dental Casts Using an Intraoral 3D Scanner.” Dr. Rajshekar’s paper is scheduled for oral presentation […]

FSF Jan S. Bashinski Criminalistics Graduate Thesis Assistant Grant Winner

2015-16 Bashinski Grant Recipient Sarah Riman, PhD The Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) is proud to announce that Sarah Riman, PhD, was awarded the 2015-16 FSF Jan S. Bashinski Criminalistics Graduate Thesis Assistance Grant for her paper, “Streamlining Semen and Sperm Cell Detection Via Proximity Ligation Real-Time PCR with Forensic DNA Analysis.” This year’s award consists […]

Policy Page – January 2016

Legislation: Source: Victor Weedn, MD, JD, AAFS 2015-16 President It seems that frustration has been growing within Washington circles about the lack of forensic science reform. Simultaneously, in the wake of more police shootings, there has been increasing consensus for a need for criminal justice reform that may subsume forensic science reform. Regardless, this year […]

2015 FSF Emerging Forensic Scientist Award Winners: Federica Collini, MD and Whitney Simpson, BS

The 16th Annual FSF Emerging Forensic Scientist Award paper competition was hosted in Orlando, FL. The following presenters were selected as the 2015 winners by a panel of judges: Whitney A. Simpson, BS, was selected for her poster presentation entitled, “Highly Multiplexed Analysis of STRs and SNPs Using Massively Parallel Sequencing: Concordance With Current Methodologies,” […]

Jurisprudence Section Happenings – January 2016

  Sources:  Christine Funk, JD, Section Chair and Stephanie Domitrovich, JD, PhD, Section Secretary We look forward to the wonderful presentations of our members and others at the AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting in Las Vegas in February. Please do not forget to buy your luncheon ticket ASAP online AND ahead of time. Do not wait […]

AAFS Fellow Douglas Scott Awarded the Society for Historical Archaeology’s Highest Honor

Please join the Anthropology and General Sections as we congratulate Douglas Scott, forensic archaeologist and Fellow of the General Section.  He has been awarded the J.C. Harrington Medal in Historical Archaeology.  This honor reflects his years of service as a forensic archaeologist in overseas human rights investigations, as well as his pursuit of traditional archaeological […]

FSF Announces 2015-16 Lucas Grant Award Recipients!

Each year the Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) awards monies in the form of grants to members of the forensic science communities for research conducted throughout the year. The FSF has awarded four 2015-16 FSF Lucas Grants and is pleased to announce the recipients of the research grants for this year.  Congratulations! The 2015-16 FSF Lucas […]