2021–22 Nominating Committee Report

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

The Nominating Committee has announced its list of nominees for 2022-23 officers:


Laura C. Fulginiti, PhD                    President                  (Anthropology)

C. Ken Williams, MS, JD                  President-Elect       (Criminalistics)

Christopher R. Thompson, MD       Vice President          (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science)

Laura L. Liptai, PhD                         Treasurer                 (Engineering & Applied Sciences)

Joanna L. Collins, MFS                     Secretary                 (General)


The Nominating Committee is composed of three immediate past presidents—Jeri Ropero-Miller (Chair), Zeno Geradts, and Susan Ballou, and the immediate past section chairs:  Kristin Harnett-McCann (Anthropology), Kristy Kadash (Criminalistics), Marla Carroll (Digital & Multimedia Sciences), David Pienkowski (Engineering & Applied Sciences), Steven Clark (General), Robert Sanger (Jurisprudence), Adam Freeman (Odontology), Carl Schmidt (Pathology/Biology), Dean De Crisce (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science), Jan Seaman Kelly (Questioned Documents), and Sherri Kacinko (Toxicology).

In accordance with AAFS Bylaws, a nomination for any elected office of the Academy may be made by petition delivered to the Nominating Committee in care of the AAFS headquarters no later than September 1. Nomination petitions should state the name of the nominee, the office sought, a certificate stating that the nominee is a Fellow in good standing, and the signatures and printed names of 50 Fellows and full Members. Nominations for any elective office may be made from the floor during the Academy’s annual business meeting on February 23, 2022, in Seattle, WA.