70th Annual Scientific Meeting Award Presentations

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Join us on Wednesday, February 21, 2018, in acknowledging your colleagues as they are presented and recognized for the following awards.

AAFS Distinguished Fellow Honoree Virginia A. Lynch, MSN

AAFS Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Award:  Lavinia Iancu, PhD

2018 Section Award Honorees

Anthropology Section’s
T. Dale Stewart Award:  P. Willey, PhD
J. Lawrence Angel Award:  Michala K. Stock, MA
Ellis R. Kerley Research Award:  Marin A. Pilloud, PhD
Service Award:  Gregory E. Berg, PhD; Michael Finnegan, PhD; Richard L. Jantz, PhD; Erin H. Kimmerle, PhD; Elizabeth A. Miller, PhD; Susan M. T. Myster, PhD; Vincent H. Stefan, PhD

Criminalistics Section’s
Paul L. Kirk Award:  Nicholas Petraco, MS
Mary E. Cowan Outstanding Service Award:  Anjali A. Ranadive, JD
Meritorious Service Award:  Chris E. Taylor, BS

Digital & Multimedia Sciences Section’s
Outstanding Research Award:  Kathryn C. Seigfried-Spellar, PhD
Outstanding Case Study Award:  Christina A. Malone, MSFS

Engineering Sciences Section’s
Founders Award:  Harold Franck, MSEE
Andrew H. Payne, Jr., Special Achievement Award:  David Pienkowski, PhD; Kurt D. Weiss, MS

General Section’s
Robert Gaffney Achievement Award:  Eriek S. Hansen, PhD
John R. Hunt Award:  Julie A. Howe, MBA
Paul W. Kehres Meritorious Service Award:  Claire E. Shepard, MS

Jurisprudence Section’s
Harold A. Feder Award:  Roderick T. Kennedy, JD

Odontology Section’s
Lester Luntz Award:  Gary M. Berman, DDS
Reidar F. Sognnaes Award of Excellence in Forensic Odontology:  Harry H. Mincer, DDS, PhD

Pathology/Biology Section’s
Milton Helpern Award:  Andrew M. Baker, MD

Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section’s
Richard Rosner, MD Award for the Best Paper by a Fellow in Forensic Psychiatry or Forensic Psychology:  Brian J. Holoyda, MD

Questioned Documents Section’s
Ordway Hilton Award:  Thomas W. Vastrick, BS

Toxicology Section’s
Alexander O. Gettler Award:  Frederick W. Fochtman, PhD
Rolla N. Harger Award:  Sarah Kerrigan, PhD
Ray Abernethy Award:  Karl B. Scheidweiler, PhD
Irving Sunshine Award:  Erin L. Karschner, PhD

2017-18 FSF Emerging Forensic Scientist Award Honorees:  Lindsay Glicksberg, BS; D’Nisha D. Hamblin, MSFS

2017-18 FSF Henry C. Lee Scholarship Recipient:  Muataz A. Al-Qazzaz, PhD

2017-18 FSF Warren-Young Scholarship Recipient:  Betty H. Davis, BSEd

2017-18 FSF Jan S. Bashinski Criminalistics Graduate Thesis Assistance Grant:  Logan D. Hickey, BSc

2017-18 FSF/CRC Press Student Travel Grant:  Victoria M. Dominguez, MA