AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize – Call for Nominations

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) invites nominations for the 2015 AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize.  The Prize was established in 1985 by the AAAS Board of Directors to be awarded to someone who has made significant contributions to the advancement of science in the United States either as:

  • a public servant, in recognition of sustained exceptional contributions to advancing science; or,
  • a scientist, whose career has been distinguished both for scientific achievement and for other notable services to the scientific community.

Please visit the website for further details on the award and nomination process:

Deadline for nominations: September 1.

Please contact Ed Derrick ( of the AAAS Center of Science, Policy and Society Programs with any questions.