AAFS Delegation Joins CFSO in DC to Discuss Forensic Science Standards

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Jeri D. Ropero-Miller, PhD, AAFS President-Elect

On October 28 and 29, an AAFS delegation composed of Jeri Ropero-Miller (President-Elect), Ken Melson (AAFS CFSO representative), Lucy Davis (ASB Chair, OSAC FSSB member), and Teresa Ambrosius (ASB Secretariat) attended a Consortium of Forensic Science Organizations (CFSO) all-hands meeting outside of Washington, DC. Other meeting attendees included CFSO representatives and their associations’ leadership. The meeting focused on OSAC 2.0 and the role of ASB in the process of standards development. We also strategized on ways that ASB could be funded after the current grant expires. Representatives from the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) and the Department of Justice (DoJ) spoke to the group, and we had constructive discussions with them. The day after the meeting, Lucy Davis and Brooke Arnone accompanied CFSO to the Hill where they met with staff from the Senate Judiciary Committee majority, the Senate Judiciary Committee minority, the House Judiciary minority, and the majority and minority of the Senate Science Committee. Lucy actively participated in briefing the various staffs. The CFSO meeting and Hill visits were very valuable, and we look forward to meeting again next year.

Left to Right: Matt Gamette (ASCLD), Ken Zercie (IAI), Ken Melson (AAFS),

Jonathan Arden (NAME), Ken Martin (IAI), Lucy Davis (AAFS) and

Neta (Ken Melson’s Special Guest).

Left to Right: Matt Gamette (ASCLD), Lucy Davis (AAFS), Ken Martin (IAI),
Beth Arnone (ASCLD), Jonathan Arden (NAME), Ken Zercie (IAI).