Best Chapter Awarded to Forensic Microbiology Authors

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source:  David O. Carter, PhD, Pathology/Biology Section Secretary

The Forensic Science in Focus series is already starting to receive recognition throughout the forensic science community. Jared Castle, PhD student in the College of Science & Engineering at Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia, and co-authors Claire Lenehan, Stewart Walker, Danielle Butzbach, Paul Kirkbride, and Frank Reith, were recently awarded the Best Chapter Award by the Australia New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency and National Institute of Forensic Science for their chapter in Forensic Microbiology, “Microbial impacts in postmortem toxicology.”

The authors state, “After death, microorganisms degrade some drugs and metabolites. Understanding this process is important in order to appropriately screen, quantify, and interpret results in postmortem toxicology. Annually, the Australia New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency and National Institute of Forensic Science award Australian and New Zealand forensic scientists for outstanding contributions to scientific literature. It is an honor to receive the award for Best Chapter in a Book for 2017 and also to have been given the opportunity to contribute to Forensic Microbiology. We hope that this chapter allows readers to appreciate the importance of understanding microbial activity for forensic toxicology.”

Forensic Microbiology was published in 2017 as part of the Forensic Science in Focus series, a joint venture between the American Academy Forensic Sciences and John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. This text reviews the forensic applications of microbiology associated with pathology, taphonomy, anthropology, and trace evidence analysis. Forensic Microbiology was edited by David O. Carter (Fellow – Pathology/Biology), Jeffrey K. Tomberlin (Fellow – Pathology/Biology), M. Eric Benbow (Member – Pathology/Biology), and Jessica L. Metcalf.