General Section News—August 2018

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source:  Steven C. Clark, PhD, Section Secretary

The August 1 deadline for 2019 abstract submissions has passed and Program Chair Gina Londino and Co-Chair Brian Janysek are busy with the review process and building an excellent program! Thanks to all that submitted abstracts this year.

The General Section Nominating Committee, consisting of Julie Howe, David Zeliff, and Brian Clark, announce a call for nominations for Section Chair and Secretary, both of whom will be elected during the section business meeting in Baltimore, MD. A list of officer responsibilities may be found at in the AAFS Policy and Procedure Manual. Nominees may be placed on the ballot in one of three ways: (1) selection by the Nominating Committee; (2) nomination from the membership by petition, supported in writing by a minimum of three Members or Fellows of the General Section; or (3) nomination from the floor during the election process at the annual section business meeting. Petition(s) must be submitted to Julie by October 15 to verify the nominee’s eligibility and willingness to serve and to obtain an AAFS-specific resume. Julie may be reached at

The Awards Committee Chair, Arthur “Steve” Chancellor, is seeking nominations for the Paul W. Kehres Meritorious Service Award and the John R. Hunt Award. The Kehres award is intended to recognize a General Section Trainee Affiliate, Student Affiliate, Associate Member, Member, or Fellow for exceptional service to the General Section. This service may include, but is not limited to, performance of section responsibilities under extremely adverse conditions or service to the section far above and beyond that which would normally by expected.

The John R. Hunt award is intended to recognize sustained superior contributions to the General Section, the AAFS, and the forensic science community. To be eligible for this award, a nominee must be a Fellow of the General Section for the last three consecutive years when the award is bestowed and must have attended 50% of the section business meetings in the past six years. The nominee must also have presented a scientific paper or poster, participated as a presenter in a joint or plenary session, breakfast seminar, or workshop within the last five years, and must have published in the Journal of Forensic Sciences. Additionally, the nominee should have served in an elected position within the section in an official capacity for at least one year as Chair or as a member of a committee for at least three years. In the absence of one of these criteria, the candidate shall have made a significant contribution to the forensic science community that may not be reflected by a specific section or AAFS effort.

Please submit nominations to Steve at no later than August 15. Details on awards and the nominating process may be found in the AAFS Policy and Procedure Manual.

Membership and promotion in our organization and section are key to sustainment and growth. Please reach out to colleagues and encourage them to apply for membership in the AAFS and the General Section. If you know someone who needs a letter of reference to complete their application or to promote, please contact Cheryl Hunter, AAFS Membership Coordinator, at October 1 is the deadline for submitting applications for consideration for acceptance/promotion at the 2019 meeting.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and we look forward to seeing you February 18-23, 2019, in Baltimore!