Marilyn A. Huestis Receives Distinguished Fellow Award

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

President Martell honors Marilyn Huestis with the AAFS Distinguished Fellow Award during the 2015 Annual Business Meeting.

President Martell honors Marilyn Huestis with the AAFS Distinguished Fellow Award during the 2015 Annual Business Meeting.

Professor Marilyn Huestis is tenured senior investigator and Chief of Chemistry and Drug Metabolism, IRP, National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health, and Adjunct Professor, School of Medicine, University of Maryland. She thoroughly enjoys mentoring doctoral students in Toxicology, and to date has overseen the research of 16 distinguished new toxicologists in the US and other countries. Her research program seeks to discover mechanisms of action of cannabinoid agonists and antagonists, effects of in utero drug exposure, the neurobiology and pharmacokinetics of novel psychoactive substances, and the disposition of drugs and metabolites in a wide variety of biological matrices.

Dr. Huestis was elected Provisional Member in the AAFS Toxicology Section in 1987 and was promoted to Fellow in 1993. She served as Section Secretary in 1998-99 and Section Chair in 1999-2000. She has been appointed to numerous Academy committees including the Nominating Committee and the Toxicology Section’s Program Committee for the Academy’s 50th Anniversary Meeting. She served on the International Affairs Committee for several years and served as Chair of this committee in 2013-14. Dr. Huestis was a member of the Academy’s Board of Directors from 2008 to 2011.

Dr. Huestis published 354 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters and presented more than 500 abstracts at national and international meetings. She currently serves on six scientific editorial boards and regularly reviews for 60 journals. She received her bachelor’s degree (cum laude) in biochemistry from Mount Holyoke College, a master’s degree with honors in clinical chemistry from the University of New Mexico, and a doctoral degree in toxicology with honors from the University of Maryland. Professor Huestis received a Doctor Honoris Causa in medicine and surgery from the Faculty of Medicine, University of Helsinki in 2010.

Other important awards include The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists (TIAFT) Alan Curry Award in 2010; the American Association for Clinical Chemistry Outstanding Contributions in a Selected Area of Research Award in 2008; the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology (IATDMCT) Irving Sunshine Award in 2007; the AAFS Toxicology Section’s Rolla N. Harger Award in 2005; and the Toxicology Section’s Irving Sunshine Award for Outstanding Research in Forensic Toxicology in 1992. The journal Clinical Chemistry recently featured her as an “Inspiring Mind.” In 2012, she was selected as a Distinguished Visiting Scholar for Australia, and as the Coy W. Waller Distinguished Lecturer University of Mississippi, and in 2013 the Meyer Bodansky Visiting Professorship of Experimental Pathology, University of Texas Galveston. She currently serves on the World Anti-doping Agency’s Prohibited List Committee, Transportation Research Board Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs, National Safety Council’s Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division Executive Board, Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Drug Testing Advisory Board, and the new Organization of Scientific Area Committees Toxicology Subcommittee. Professor Huestis is Past President of the Society of Forensic Toxicologists (SOFT) and served as the first woman president of The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists. Dr. Huestis was recently selected as an ex-officio member of the National Commission on Forensic Science.

Our sincerest congratulations to Professor Marilyn Huestis, AAFS Distinguished Fellow!