The Brazilian Academy of Forensic Sciences Announces the Winners of the Young Forensic Scientist Scholarship

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Tanisha V. Henson, MFS

The Brazilian Academy of Forensic Sciences received 34 submissions for the Young Forensic Scientist Scholarship. The articles were reviewed by a scientific panel of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and were graded on three categories: Relevance to Forensics, Innovation/Scientific Merit, and Analytical Approach. The ten submissions with the highest scores were forwarded to a commission composed of members of the Brazilian and American Academy of Forensic Sciences, as well as Dr. Barry Logan representing the Fredric Rieders Family Foundation.

Due to the high quality of the articles presented, selecting only two proved to be a very difficult task. We’d like to congratulate all the young scientists for their effort and dedication. After long deliberation, the committee came to a decision and is proud to announce the two researchers who will receive the Young Forensic Scientist Scholarship to present their work during InterFORENSICS:

Kyra Stull – University of Nevada, Reno, United States:  Comparing Population Specific Versus Universal Subadult Age Estimation Models Using Artificial Neural Networks.

Bailey Harrington – University of Lincoln, United Kingdom:  Morphometics, Craniofacial Disease Genes, and the Quest for the Genetic Basis of Facial Morphology.


In light of the excellence of the articles reviewed, InterFORENSICS’ Organizing Committee will waive registration fees for the following scientists, if they choose to attend the InterFORENSICS meeting:

Jodi Caple – The University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Australia:  Ancestry and Sex Estimation From the Skull Outline in Norma Lateralis.

Christiane Baigent – Metropolitan State University of Denver, United States:  Region Specific Model Building for the Estimation of Postmortem Interval:  A Qualitative and Quantitative Approach.

Humera Shafi – Forensic Toxicology Department, Punjab Forensic Science Agency, Pakistan:  Quantification of Pheniramine in Hair, Nails and Saliva Matrices:  Comparison With Corresponding Concentrations in Blood and Urine Specimens of Drug Abusers.

Megan Grimes – CFSRU, FBI Laboratory, Quantico, VA, United States:  Alternatives to Dithiothreitol (DTT) Yields Increased DNA Recovery from Biological Specimens.

Amanda Roe – College of Saint Mary, Omaha, Nebraska, United States:  Stage Transition Modeling for Lucilia Sericata and Phormia Regina (Diptera: Calliphoridae).

Kara Kovach – Virginia Commonwealth University, United States:  Testing of a Prototype System for Direct Quantification and Direct Amplification of Low-Template and Touch DNA Samples.

Kyle Doty – The State University of New York, Albany, United States:  Accurately Estimating the Time Since Deposition of Bloodstains Aged for Two Years.

Nadeem-UI-Hassan Khan – Punjab Forensic Science Agency, Pakistan:  Significance of ESDA in Determination of Tampering.

Congratulations to these winners!

Dr. Hélio Buchmuller
Chairman of InterFORENSICS and President of the Brazilian Academy of Forensic Sciences