News Related to: Committees

Call For 2020–21 Award Nominations

Source: Zeno J. Geradts, PhD, Past Presidents Council Chair, Awards Committee Chair The nomination period for 2020–21 Academy-wide awards has opened. Please consider submitting nominations for the following awards. All references to the Policy and Procedure Manual may be found HERE. Past Presidents Council Award for Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Summary of […]

CFSO Flash Brief—2020 March Issue

Source: Kenneth E. Melson, JD, AAFS CFSO Liaison The 2020 March issue of the Consortium of Forensic Science Organizations (CFSO) newsletter is now available. Click HERE for the full edition.

2020 Anthropology Section Awards

Source: Marin A. Pilloud, PhD, Section Secretary Please join me in congratulating the many award winners in the Anthropology Section who were recognized at the AAFS 72nd Annual Scientific Meeting in Anaheim! The T. Dale Stewart Award—H. Gill-King received this award for his distinguished service to forensic anthropology over the past several decades. Next year, this […]

Law Enforcement Mental Health and Wellness Act (LEMHWA) Program

Source: Jonathan G. McGrath, PhD, MSFS, Senior Policy Analyst, National Institute of Justice The 2020 Law Enforcement Mental Health and Wellness Act program is a competitive grant program that provides funding to improve the delivery of and access to mental health and wellness services for law enforcement through training and technical assistance, demonstration projects, and […]

FY 2020 Academic-Based Drug Field Testing and Training Initiative

Source: Jonathan G. McGrath, PhD, MSFS, Senior Policy Analyst, National Institute of Justice The United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) seeks to address delays in forensic lab testing with the ultimate goal of reducing court backlogs for drug-related offenses. BJA will select an applicant to establish a pilot project to develop […]

Call For Nominations: AAFS Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Award

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) Past Presidents Council (PPC) is pleased to announce that nominations are open for the 2020–21 Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions to forensic science research, education, and/or practice during the recipient’s early professional career. The recipient […]

Continuing Education Credit Requests

The deadline for submissions of Continuing Education Credit and Certificates is March 17. If you have not done so already, please submit your forms. Certificates will be available on your AAFS Account Portal on approximately April 15. Please note that submissions will not be accepted after May 1 for the most recent annual meeting.

Manhattan County District Attorney’s Office Honored With AAFS Ambassador of Forensic Science Award

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) Board of Directors unanimously voted to honor the Manhattan County District Attorney’s (DA’s) Office with the AAFS Ambassador of Forensic Science Award. This award is intended to acknowledge an individual or a group that has advanced the recognition of forensic science in the pursuit of justice through public […]

In Memoriam: Noelle Umback

Sources: Marie M. Samples, MS, and Desirée A. Reid, BS The excitement of the recent AAFS meeting in Anaheim was tempered by the news that Noelle J. Umback, Fellow of the Criminalistics Section and the incoming Chair, passed away the previous Saturday evening, February 15. She lost her battle with breast cancer that she had […]

FEPAC 2020 Accreditation Decision

Source: Nancy J. Jackson, AAFS Accreditation & Outreach Coordinator At a meeting held January 24, 2020, the Forensic Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission (FEPAC) conducted reviews of forensic science programs that applied for accreditation during the 2019 review cycle. The summary of accreditation actions taken by FEPAC are available online through the FEPAC website at […]

The First-Ever Humanitarian and Human Rights Poster and Networking Session at the AAFS Annual Meeting

Sources: Douglas H. Ubelaker, PhD, AAFS HHRRC Chair, and Jeri D. Ropero-Miller, PhD, AAFS President-Elect and FTCoE Project Director The Humanitarian and Human Rights Resource Center (HHRRC) and the National Institute of Justice’s Forensic Science Technology Center of Excellence (FTCoE) would like to cordially, and personally, invite you to the Inaugural Humanitarian and Human Rights […]

The Criminalistics Regional Association Committee Needs YOU

Source: Kristy Kadash, PhD, Criminalistics Nominating Committee Chair The Regional Association Committee (RAC) within the Criminalistics section provides an opportunity for the regional societies, such as the Northeastern Association of Forensic Scientists (NEAFS), Mid-Atlantic Association of Forensic Scientists (MAAFS), Southern Association of Forensic Scientists (SAFS), Midwestern Association of Forensic Scientists (MAFS), Southwestern Association of Forensic […]

AAFS Board of Directors Announce 2019–2020 Distinguished Fellows

The AAFS Board of Directors is pleased to announce that two Distinguished Fellows will be honored during the 2020 Annual Business Meeting on Wednesday, February 19, in Anaheim, CA: Betty Layne DesPortes, AAFS Past President and Jurisprudence Section Fellow, and Iain Pretty, Odontology Section Fellow. Betty Layne DesPortes is a criminal defense attorney with the firm […]

Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section News—January 2020

Sources: Eleanor B. Vo, MD, Section Secretary, and Emily D. Gottfried, PhD, Section Program Chair January 2020 is already here meaning that the 72nd AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting is just around the corner. This year we will meet in Anaheim, CA, at the Convention Center from February 17–22. The pre-registration deadline is January 20. Registration is […]

Call for Nominations for the T. Dale Stewart Award

Sources: Kristen Hartnett-McCann, PhD, Section Secretary Anthropology Section members are asked to please submit nominations for the T. Dale Stewart Award to the Anthropology Section officers by February 1, 2020. The criteria for this award, which is published in the AAFS Policy and Procedure Manual (Section is included below. Paul Emanovsky (Chair)— Kristen Hartnett-McCann […]