FEPAC Selects New Commissioners

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Nancy J. Jackson, AAFS Accreditation & Outreach Coordinator

At a recent meeting, three new Commissioners were selected to serve on the AAFS Forensic Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission (FEPAC). Thomas A. Brettell will be replacing Dwight E. Adams and Josh Brunty will be replacing Jeffrey K. Tomberlin as Academician Commissioners while Lynn A. Schneewies will be replacing Pamela M. Johnson as Practitioner Commissioner.

Pursuant to the FEPAC Policies & Procedures, Dr. Tomberlin and Ms. Johnson have served as FEPAC Commissioners for a maximum of two three-year terms. Dr. Adams has served as FEPAC Commission and Chairman for a single term. All have contributed greatly to the advancement of the FEPAC Mission and Goals, overseeing the accreditation process of numerous forensic science programs. It is difficult to say goodbye to these extraordinary Commissioners, but their time with FEPAC has not come to an end as they will be called upon to continue serving in various capacities.

Dr. Brettell, Mr. Brunty, and Ms. Schneeweis have served FEPAC over the years as On-Site Evaluators, have regularly attended the FEPAC training sessions, and have knowledge of the FEPAC Standards and Procedures. They are a very welcome addition to the FEPAC team.