2016-17 FSF Warren-Young Scholarship Awarded to Leanne K. Moorman

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

The Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) is pleased to announce the winner of the 2016-17 FSF Warren-Young Scholarship:lkm Congratulations to Leanne K. Moorman!

Ms. Moorman is one of three science teachers at Felicity-Franklin High School in Felicity, OH (near Cincinnati). She has long wished for the ability to offer classes to her students which cover more than the core science requirements.

The FSF Warren-Young Scholarship will provide the opportunity to incorporate forensic science into the curriculum at Felicity-Franklin High School. Ms. Moorman welcomes this opportunity to improve her self-taught knowledge of forensic science and to truly provide an outstanding real-life science class that will significantly enhance forensic science education for her students.

Ms. Moorman has a BS from the Ohio State University and an MS from the University of Florida. She has also attended graduate classes at West Virginia University, Franciscan University of Steubenville, and the University of Dayton. She teaches physical science, environmental science, and biology, and has recently received her school bus license so she can take her students on field trips. She refers to herself as a “true science geek” who loves to garden, travel, look for bugs and cool plants, and constantly continues to learn.

The FSF Warren-Young Scholarship is designed to encourage forensic science education at the middle and high school level and is intended to provide funds, not less than $1,500, for teachers to purchase supplies, equipment, or reference materials to support forensic science education in teaching basic scientific principles. In addition to the $1,500 award, the FSF Executive Committee has approved the provision of a scholarship at a future Forensic Science Educational Conference.

The FSF Warren-Young Scholarship Committee is comprised of Daniel Martell, Chair, Julie Howe, Carl McClary, and Ronald Singer.