2020–21 Warren-Young Scholarship Recipient Announced

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Ronald J. Moss, RRT, MSEd, MS

The Forensic Sciences Foundation is pleased to award Ronald Moss with the 2020-21 Warren-Young Scholarship. This award is designed to encourage forensic science education at the middle and high school levels and is intended to provide funds to purchase supplies, equipment, or reference materials to support forensic science education in teaching basic scientific principles. Applications are judged based on how the funds will further the goals of the Foundation. Priority is given to programs with apparent financial need and those that provide forensic science education in underserved population areas. The scholarship provides funds up to $3,000, a complimentary registration to attend one AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting and the Student Academy, including two free nights of hotel accommodations, and a scholarship to attend one Forensic Science Education Conference (FSEC).

Mr. Moss earned his BS and MSEd from the State University of New York at Plattsburgh. He also holds an MS in Pharmaceutical Sciences with a concentration in Forensic Science as well as a Certificate of Graduate Study in Forensic Death Investigation from the University of Florida.  He is currently working toward certification as a Medicolegal Death Investigator. Prior to his teaching career, now in his 24th year, he earned an Associate Degree in Respiratory Therapy Technology and was a practicing Registered Respiratory Therapist for 12 years. He teaches College Forensic Science and College Biology at Beekmantown High School. Both classes are taught in conjunction with Syracuse University where he is an adjunct instructor.

Mr. Moss holds memberships in the International Forensic Medicine Association (IFMA), the Council of Forensic Science Educators (COFSE), the International Association for Identification (IAI), and the Northeastern Association for Forensic Scientists (NEAFS). He is currently the COFSE Chair of the K-12 Education Committee and Membership Manager for IFMA.

Congratulations to Mr. Moss on being awarded the Warren-Young Scholarship!