Forensic Sciences Foundation Announces the 2020-21 Field Grant Recipients

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Each year, the Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) awards monies in the form of grants to members of the forensic science communities to help the investigator/researcher initiate original in-depth, problem-oriented research throughout the year. These grants are open to members and affiliates (at any level) of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. Three FSF Field Grants have been awarded for 2020-21 and we are pleased to announce the following recipients.

Morgan N. Carpenter, BSโ€”$1,300 for Assessing the Individual Versus Joint Use of Microspectrophotometry and Elemental Analysis Methods to Efficiently Discriminate Automotive Paint

Amy M. Osborne, BSโ€”$1,478 for Development of a Technique for the Forensic Identification of Carrion Beetles

Sonia M. Vagues, BSโ€”$1,500 for The Analysis of Differentially Methylated Genetic Markers Through Bisulfite Treatment and PCR-High Resolution Melt to Distinguish Between Monozygotic Twins

Morgan N. Carpenter, BS

Amy M. Osborne, BS

Sonia M. Vagues, BS

Congratulations, Morgan, Amy, and Sonia!

And a big thank you to the FSF Research Committee – Laura Fulginiti (Chair), William Johnson, Carl McClary, Andrew Seidel, Claire Shepard, and Kathryn Pinneri.