FSF Announces the 2017-18 Acorn and Lucas Research Grant Award Recipients!

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Each year, the Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) awards monies in the form of grants to members of the forensic science communities for research conducted throughout the year. One 2017-18 FSF Acorn Research Grant and five 2017-18 FSF Lucas Research Grants have been awarded.

The 2017-18 FSF Acorn Research Grant recipient is:

  • Hannah A. Kastenbaum, MD, $1,000, Validation of a Urine Drug Screen Assay in the Postmortem Setting

Hannah A. Kastenbaum, MD

The 2017-18 FSF Lucas Research Grant recipients are:

  • Candice Bridge, PhD, $4,800, A Novel Approach to Automotive Paint Analysis Using Direct Analysis in Real Time Mass Spectrometry
  • Marianne Hamel, MD, PhD, $4,800, Use of Over-the-Counter Urine Pregnancy Tests to Detect Early Gestation in Female Homicide Victims
  • LeAnn M. Harrel, BS, $4,800, A Faster, Easier, and More Effective Bone Processing Method for DNA Analysis
  • Ashley Morgan, MS, $4,800, Optimization of DNA Recovery From Latent Fingerprints on Paper
  • Kaitlyn B. Palmquist, BS, $4,800, Method Development and Validation for the Screening of Fentanyl and Eight Analogs in Whole Blood Using LC/qTOF Analysis

Candace Bridge, PhD

Marianne Hamel, MD, PhD

LeAnn M. Harrel, BS

Ashley Morgan, MS

Kaitlyn B. Palmquist, BS