BYOS Wants YOU!


Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Want to be a part of history—both looking back and looking forward?

Please join us in celebrating the legacy that is Bring Your Own Slides (BYOS)! The 2021 AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting provides an opportunity to return BYOS to its roots where a few AAFS friends gathered in a hotel room to share interesting cases and valuable lessons learned from real cases without the formality and structure required in the conventional meeting format.

If you have an interesting case, or series of cases, that would provide a learning opportunity for newer practitioners or perhaps “teach old dogs a few new tricks,” join us in the celebration of the past and the future in a less formal setting. This provides an ideal opportunity for those less experienced in the formal academic presentation setting to present before an audience of their peers while simultaneously getting more seasoned experts to share pearls of wisdom gleaned from years of casework experience. Think (1) Education and (2) Fun. You can join the presenters and relax while educating and learning from your colleagues in all AAFS sections. Simply put, “there’s nothing quite like it.” Please join us in a live virtual setting from the comfort of your favorite perch to make the old new again.

BYOS WANTS YOU!

A few important reminders:

  • WHO: You!
  • WHAT: Live video PowerPoint® original presentations (10 minutes each)
  • WHEN: Wednesday, February 17, 2021; 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CST/5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. MST/4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. PST
  • WHERE: AAFS annual meeting in cyberspace
  • WHY: Informal, fun, and informative for a large and diverse forensics audience

Click HERE for submission form.

Forms must be emailed by 12:00 p.m. EST/11:00 a.m. CST/10:00 a.m. MST/09:00 a.m. PST on Wednesday, Feb 17, 2021.