AAFS Nominating Committee Report

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

The Nominating Committee has announced its list of nominees for the 2016-17 officers:

Betty Layne DesPortes, JD, MS

President-Elect (Jurisprudence)

Jeri D. Ropero-Miller, PhD

Vice President (Toxicology)

John L. Young, MD

 Vice President (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science)

Susan M. Ballou, MS

Secretary (Criminalistics)

Zeno J. Geradts, PhD

Treasurer (Digital & Multimedia Sciences)

The Nominating Committee is composed of the three immediate Past Presidents—Daniel Martell (Chair), Barry Logan, and Robert Barsley—and the immediate past section chairs: Ann Ross (Anthropology), Lawrence Quarino (Criminalistics), Douglas Lacey (Digital & Multimedia Sciences), Carol Erikson (Engineering Sciences), Alan Boehm (General), Andrew Sulner (Jurisprudence), Paula Brumit (Odontology), J.C. Upshaw Downs (Pathology/Biology), Christopher Thompson (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science), Carl McClary (Questioned Documents), and Dwain Fuller (Toxicology).

In accordance with AAFS Bylaws, nomination for any elected office of the Academy may be made by petition delivered to the Nominating Committee in care of the AAFS headquarters no later than September 1. Nomination petitions should state the name of the nominee, the office sought, a certificate stating that the candidate is a Fellow in good standing, and the signatures and printed names of 50 Fellows and full Members. Nominations for any elective office may be made from the floor during the Academy’s Annual Business Meeting, February 24, 2016, in Las Vegas, NV.