Criminalistics Seattle Review—April 2018

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Kristy Kadash, PhD, Section Chair

The Criminalistics section had a very productive meeting in Seattle from beginning to end. The section was represented by four workshops and a luncheon that covered topics ranging from quality assurance to the opioid epidemic.

The Section Business Meeting occurred on Wednesday. During the meeting, the section leadership provided a State of the Section overview, including membership, financial updates, and reports from each committee. Individuals who served as abstract reviewers, moderators, and judges were recognized. New individuals were appointed to serve on various committees.

The following 2018 award winners were honored: Chris Taylor for the Meritorious Service Award, Anjali Ranadive for the Mary E. Cowan Outstanding Service Award, and Nicholas Petraco, Sr. for the Paul L. Kirk Award. Logan Hickey was also applauded as the winner of the Forensic Sciences Foundation (FSF) Jan Bashinski Graduate Thesis Assistance Grant. The following individuals were solemnly remembered during the Business Meeting (and the Friday evening session): Byron Courtney, Michael Rehberg, Richard Saferstein, Jay Siegel, and David Stafford.

For the first time, the Criminalistics section won the Academy Cup and proudly displayed the trophy during the Wednesday night reception. This will likely be the first in a long winning streak for our section.

The Scientific Sessions were held Wednesday afternoon through Saturday morning, with a total of 112 oral and 84 poster presentations. The Criminalistics Believe It Or Not session on Friday evening enjoyed a large turnout due to the entertaining presentations and the sponsored refreshments. The Saturday sessions were also highly attended.

The 2018-2019 Program Committee consists of Noelle Umback (Chair) and Sandra Sachs (Co-Chair). They will be handling the daunting task of assembling an outstanding Scientific Session for the 2019 meeting in Baltimore. The meeting is scheduled for February 18-23, 2019. If you have any questions regarding how the Criminalistics Section can serve you or how you can serve the Criminalistics Section, do not hesitate to contact Chair Kristy Kadash or the Secretary Patrick Buzzini. Our contact information can be found here: Please watch for future Newsfeeds on the focus of the 2019 meeting theme—Diligence, Dedication, and Devotion.