General Section News – September 2015

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source:  Joanna L. Collins, MFS, Section Secretary

It’s August…the summer is just about over, the abstract submission deadline has passed, and we are six months out from the 2016 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, NV (February 22-27). For those who submitted an abstract, thank you and good luck! For those who didn’t quite get to it, start planning now for the 2017 meeting in New Orleans! Section Program Chair Steve Chancellor ( and Co-Chair Melissa Connor ( are busy reviewing all of the submissions and developing a dynamic program for the annual meeting. In addition, they will select moderators for the scientific sessions. If you did not have a chance to sign up during the last meeting, and you plan on attending the 2016 meeting and are interested in serving in this capacity, please send them an email.

The General Section has several other members hard at work on the 2016 AAFS Program as well. Julie Howe is the Chair of the Student Academy and the Academy-wide Program Co-Chair. Joanna Collins is the Plenary Session Co-Chair and Tanisha Henson is the Poster Session Chair. Congratulations to these General Section members for being named to the program committee.

The General Section Nominating Committee, consisting of Alan Boehm, Kathleen Hargrave, and Frank Horvath, announces that a section chair and section secretary will be elected during the section business meeting in Las Vegas. A list of officer responsibilities can be found online ( in the AAFS Policy and Procedure Manual. Nominees can be placed on the ballot in one of three ways: (1) selection by the Nominating Committee; (2) nomination from the membership by petition, supported in writing by a minimum of three Members or Fellows of the General Section; or, (3) nomination from the floor during the election process at the annual section business meeting. Petition(s) must be submitted to Alan by October 15 in order to verify the nominee’s eligibility, willingness to serve, and to obtain an AAFS-specific resume. Alan can be reached at

Lastly, our Reception Committee Chair, Sharon Plotkin, has been working hard on fundraising for our annual General Section Reception to be held on Wednesday night of the meeting. If you would like to be recognized as a Friend of the General Section (FOGS), it is not too late to donate; email Sharon at for details.