Nominations for Carrie Morgan Whitcomb Outstanding Service Award

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Walter T. Hart, MBA, Digital & Multimedia Sciences (DMS) Section Awards Committee Chair

The DMS Section Awards Committee and DMS Section Officers invite you to nominate individuals for the Carrie Morgan Whitcomb Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes a person who has accomplished or performed a superior service or has demonstrated a history of commendable service to the DMS Section, the Academy, or forensic science.

Any Associate Member, Member, or Fellow of the DMS Section may nominate an individual for the Outstanding Service Award. You may nominate any Fellow, Member, Associate Member, Trainee Affiliate, or Student Affiliate who meets the criteria. The nominee for this award must have been a member of the DMS Section at the time of the achievement.

The nomination should consist of no more than two typed (12-point font) pages that cover: (1) the history of scholarly work (e.g., presentations at the AAFS annual meetings, publications in the Journal of Forensic Sciences, and other presentations and/or publications); and (2) service to this section and the AAFS (e.g., elected position, service on a committee, business meeting participation, etc.). For complete information, see page 134 of the AAFS Policy and Procedure Manual (

The award winner will receive a plaque presented at the AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting. The award decision will be made by the DMS Section Awards Committee and Section Officers. The committee will seek financial sponsorship for the recipient to attend the AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting, although award recipients are not guaranteed such sponsorship. This award is limited to, at most, one recipient per year. Individuals are eligible to receive this award more than once.

Return contact information: Please submit nominations to me at by Wednesday, September 5, 2018.