Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section News – April 2016

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Dean M. De Crisce, MD, Section Secretary

We hope that everyone had a pleasant and meaningful experience at our recent conference in Las Vegas, NV. We had an exciting speaker lineup comprised of three days of presentations and poster presentations covering a wide variety of topics in forensic behavioral science. We wish to thank Program Chair Gregg Dwyer for his work in arranging our section’s scientific sessions. Members were, and are, also encouraged to attend any one of the hundreds of presentations in other sections held at the annual meeting.

We have a number of noteworthy events to report to our section members:

John Young was elected as one of two Vice Presidents of the Academy. We wish to congratulate him on this position and his longstanding service to the Academy. In other section positions, Karen Rosenbaum will remain the Section Chair, along with Dean De Crisce as Section Secretary. Varendra Gosein will serve as 2017 Section Program Chair and Paul Federoff as Section Program Co-Chair.

Richard Rosner, on behalf of the Awards Committee, recommended Christopher Thompson, Fellow-at-Large, for the Maier I. Tuchler Award. The Tuchler Award is the highest honor the Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section bestows on any member for exceptional service to our section. Dr. Tuchler was an American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) Past President and a member of our section. Dr. Rosenbaum presented Dr. Thompson with the award. She also presented Dr. Thompson with an award for having served as the 2016 Workshop Co-Chair. Congratulations, Dr. Thompson!

Karen Rosenbaum presents Christopher Thompson with the Maier I. Tuchler Award.

Karen Rosenbaum presents Christopher Thompson with the Maier I. Tuchler Award.

The Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Section won the 2016 Academy Cup competition. We wish to thank Dean De Crisce, Raymond Hamden, Vivian Shnaidman, Janet Schwartz, Lauren Reba-Harrelson, Felice Carabellese, Laura Volpini, along with the Young Forensic Scientists Forum (YFSF) participants Sarah Luby, Laura Collazo, and Jordan Edgell for participating in this fun event. 

Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Academy Cup team.

Psychiatry & Behavioral Science Academy Cup team.

Academy Cup Trophy

The Academy Cup Trophy presented to the section.

Robert Weinstock, in addition to Connor Darby and Richard Rosner, combined forces in a newly created Committee to Study Ethical Issues in Forensic Psychology and Psychiatry. In other section business news relating to recruitment, Dr. Thompson reminded all members to use our academic positions and work relationships to recruit new members. Dr. Rosenbaum is preparing a workshop for the American Academy of Psychiatry and Law (AAPL), as a function of the Committee for Liaison to Forensic Sciences which serves as a recruitment effort of the AAFS within the AAPL. Dr. Reba-Harrelson also had projects relating to her position as Chair Elect of the Early Career Professionals within the American Psychological Association (APA) to help with recruitment. Dr. Dan Martell, AAFS Past President, was working on the possibility of arranging an AAFS booth at one of the large national psychology meetings (APA) and perhaps at AAPL this year. Fliers and membership applications about AAFS may also be brought by members to any conferences they attend, with permission of the conference organization.

Of note, the Richard Rosner Best Paper Award by a forensic psychiatry or psychology fellow was discussed in our business meeting. A change in deadline to July 1, with the stipulation that the paper will have been completed within one year of completion of training, was approved by vote. This will place the announcement of the award recipient in a timeline with the preliminary schedule for the annual meeting.

Dr. De Crisce announced the publication of Dr. Vivian Shnaidman’s new book, Forensic Psychiatry: A Lawyers Guide, by Academy Press (Elsevier/ Congratulations, Dr. Shnaidman!

The AAFS Reference Series is now available by Section by year online. Use the link below and choose the year and section. The 2016 abstracts will be available at the end of this month (

As you all are aware, the Academy News has transitioned to a downloadable pdf format for the coming year. Following that, the news will be available via our Academy News Feed. Be sure to explore our news feed, which can be accessed at, and is an impressive resource, including up-to-date events of relevance to the forensic community, information on each section, job postings, and course information.

We continue to welcome the submission of news items for the Academy News Feed and this column from our members. Please submit these items to Dean De Crisce, Section Secretary, at As always, if you are aware of colleagues or trainees that may be interested in our organization, or participating in our conferences, please encourage them to join.