Toxicology Section Annual Meeting Wrap-Up

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Sherri L. Kacinko, PhD, 2020-21 Section Chair

I would like to start off with a huge thank you and congratulations to everyone who participated in the first (and hopefully last) ever Virtual AAFS meeting! It was not the 2021 meeting we were expecting a year ago, but toxicologists are adaptable and because of all of you, it was a huge success. I appreciate the opportunity I have been given the past four years to serve the AAFS Toxicology section. It was a true pleasure.

Congratulations to Jeri Ropero-Miller for her leadership during this most unusual year. She did the Toxicology section proud!

A special thanks to the Toxicology Section Officers, workshop chairs, program chairs, session moderators, abstract reviewers, and countless volunteers who helped put on such an excellent event—without them none of this would have been possible. Thanks to the hard work of Madeleine Swortwood and Amanda Mohr, we had a fabulous scientific  program, including three outstanding workshops, an Annual Lectureship courtesy of Dr. Johannes Ramaekers, 26 Poster presentations, and 27 Oral presentations. Thank you to Robert Middleberg for agreeing to host the 21st Annual Postmortem Pediatric Forensic Toxicology session.

Remember, if you registered to attend the meeting but were unable to view all the content, you can continue to access the entire program through vFairs ( until May 20, 2021.

During our section business meeting, the following Toxicology Section awardees were celebrated: Ken Ferslew (Rolla N. Harger Award), Rebecca Jufer-Phipps (Ray Abernethy Award), Marilyn Huestis (Alexander O. Gettler), and Madeleine Swortwood (Irving Sunshine Award). We also held the first virtual poster competition via Zoom! Candidates gave the judging panel a short presentation on their poster and answered questions about their research. We are proud of the up-and-coming toxicologists who participated, and I am thrilled to announce this year’s winner, Britni Skillman, for her poster titled “Phencyclidine (PCP) Prevalence and Demographics in Driving While Intoxicated/Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DWI/DUID) and Postmortem Casework in Harris County, Texas, 2013–2018.” Congratulations to our awardees!

Keep watching this space for information on the 74th Annual AAFS meeting in Seattle, WA, February 21–26, 2022.