Toxicology Section News — April 2017

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: William Johnson, BA, Section Program Chair

It’s difficult to believe two months have passed since we last met at the 69th Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences in New Orleans, LA. First, a heartfelt thank you to all those who made this meeting another great success! Without the hard work of Toxicology Section officers, workshop chairs, session chairs and moderators, abstract reviewers, and countless volunteers, this meeting would not have been possible. A special thank you to those who presented their work in the Toxicology Section Program, which included two well-attended workshops, “The Opioid Epidemic:  Trends, Challenges, and a Path Forward” and “Applications in Hair Testing in Toxicology:  Legal, Technical, and Medical Challenges,” in addition to 41 oral and 30 poster presentations.

Special recognition to the following financial supporters for their continued, generous support:  Aegis Sciences Foundation, Agilent, MilliporeSigma, Immunalysis, Waters Corporation, Lipomed, UTAK Laboratories, UCT, RTI International (Best Poster Award), and NMS Labs (Workshop #5 and Wednesday Night Out).

Our annual Toxicology Luncheon continued to grow with 120 registered attendees. Michelle Peace spoke eloquently on Mentorship/Championing during her tribute to the late Alfonse Poklis. Robert Middleberg was this year’s surprise lifetime achievement honoree with tributes from Robert Osiewicz and Barry Logan. We celebrated the following members with Toxicology Section awards:  John Wyman (Rolla N. Harger Award), Laura Liddicoat (Ray Abernathy Award), Dayong Lee (Irving Sunshine Award), and Matthew Newmeyer and Kayla Ellefson (June K. Jones Scholarships). Congratulations to our honoree and awardees!

Dan Anderson, John Wyman (right)

Dan Anderson, John Wyman

Dan Anderson, Laura Liddicoat

Dan Anderson, Laura Liddicoat

Dan Anderson, Dayong Lee, Bruce Goldberger

Dan Anderson, Dayong Lee, Bruce Goldberger

Kayla Ellefson, Marilyn Huestis, Matthew Newmeyer

Kayla Ellefson, Marilyn Huestis, Matthew Newmeyer












Preparations for the 70th Annual Scientific Meeting in Seattle, WA, February 19-24, 2018, are well underway. AAFS President Betty Layne DesPortes has chosen the theme “Science Matters,” citing Research, Diversity, and Communication as her three core areas of focus. We expect another exciting program with a variety of workshops, scientific sessions, breakfasts, luncheons, and traditional sessions, including Drugs and Driving, Postmortem Pediatric Toxicology, and our joint session with the Pathology/Biology Section.

With this year’s theme in mind, please start thinking about workshop proposals, abstract topics, or nominations for the section awards. The 2018 Call For Papers form is posted on the AAFS website and the August 1, 2018, deadline for submissions is less than four months away!

Section Officers: Fiona Couper, Section Chair (
Nikolas Lemos, Section Secretary (
Workshop and Abstract Contacts: William Johnson, Section Program Chair (
Sherri Kacinko, Section Program Co-Chair (
Awards Contact: Graham Jones, Awards and Scholarship Chair (

Moderators and volunteers are essential to a successful meeting; such service is especially useful for those members wishing to promote. Within the next few weeks, we hope to share a short survey with Toxicology members to gain insight on their willingness to take on these tasks. You can always contact Bill Johnson or Sherri Kacinko if interested in this volunteer opportunity. Should you be interested in promotion, please note that October 1, 2018 is the application deadline. Please consult the AAFS website for general and section-specific requirements.

Please mark your calendars now for another exciting meeting—looking forward to seeing you all in Seattle!