Toxicology Section News – January 2016

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source:  Dan T. Anderson, MS, Section Secretary

It’s absolutely amazing how another holiday season has come and gone, and we are now in the final stretches of preparing for an exciting AAFS annual meeting in Las Vegas, NV (February 22-27)!

Huge thanks to everyone who submitted abstracts and workshop proposals and the numerous reviewers who reviewed and commented on the abstracts. Three workshops and one breakfast seminar will be presented on behalf of the Toxicology Section:  on Monday morning, “Advanced Mass Spectrometry (MS) Techniques for Forensic Analysis: What Does the Future Hold?” (W#2), chaired by Sherri Kacinko and Kenyon Evans; on Monday afternoon, “Vaping: What You Didn’t Know About Electronic Cigarettes — And Why You Should Care” (W#14), chaired by Michelle Peace and Justin Poklis; on Tuesday morning, “Diversity and Inclusion at the Forensic Science Workplace” (W#19), chaired by Nikolas Lemos and Daniel Isenschmid; and on Wednesday morning, “A Primer on the Structure and Activity of the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s (NIST’s) Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSAC)” (B#3), chaired by Barry Logan. For the remainder of the week, the Poster and Scientific Sessions are filled with 43 posters on Wednesday evening and eight scientific sessions with 36 platform presentations, culminating with the annual Postmortem Pediatric Forensic Toxicology Special Session hosted by Robert Middleberg and Nikolas Lemos and the Annual Lectureship in Toxicology with Daniel Eichmer, who will discuss “Performance-Enhancing Drugs: Not Only a Sports Problem” on Thursday afternoon.

A friendly reminder to pre-register for Wednesday’s Toxicology Section Luncheon (no on-site registration allowed) as there will be an exciting guest speaker, Cathy Tobin, who will present “Finding Your Zen: Techniques for Catching your Breath and De-stressing,” as well as a tribute to one of our seasoned Toxicologists who has served all of us extremely well. Immediately following our luncheon will be the Toxicology Section Business Meeting where we will celebrate our fellow colleagues who will receive well-deserved awards: Mahmoud ElSohly — Alexander O. Gettler Award; Rod McCutcheon — Rolla N. Harger Award; Robert Kronstrand — Ray Abernethy Award; and, Erin Spargo — Irving Sunshine Award.

The last thank you is extended to the wonderful vendors who have continuously sponsored the Toxicology Section Program. To date, these include: Aegis® Sciences Corporation, Randox Toxicology Ltd., Agilent® Technologies, Cerilliant® Corporation, Immunalysis® Corporation, Waters® Corporation, and Lipomed® Inc.

Please join your colleagues and the Toxicology Section Program Chairs Fiona Couper and Nikolas Lemos in Las Vegas — it will be an unforgettable experience.