Toxicology Section News: Meet a Real Medicine Woman in “The Big Easy”!

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Nikolas P. Lemos, PhD, Toxicology Program Chair

With just a few months separating us from the 69th Annual Scientific Meeting in “The Big Easy” (beautiful New Orleans, LA), preparations are underway to deliver an educational and cutting-edge program in accordance with this year’s theme: Our Future Reflects Our Past: The Evolution of Forensic Science.

The annual Toxicology Section Luncheon will take place immediately prior to the Toxicology Section Business Meeting on Wednesday, February 15, 2017. Members who wish to attend the Toxicology Section Luncheon must register and pay for it during pre-registration, as this luncheon is not included in the regular meeting registration and participants cannot be added on-site.

During our Toxicology Section Business Meeting, we will honor the following award winners: John F. Wyman, PhD (Rolla N. Harger Award); Laura J. Liddicoat, BS (Ray Abernethy Award); Dayong Lee, PhD (Irving Sunshine Award); and Kayla N. Ellefsen, PhD, and Matthew N. Newmeyer, BS (June K. Jones Scholarship). Unfortunately, this year we received no nominations for the Alexander O. Gettler Award.

Our formal scientific program, which will start on Wednesday evening with the Poster Session, will include traditional sessions such as Drugs and Driving and Postmortem Pediatric Toxicology, and will also feature a session on Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS) and a joint session with the Pathology/Biology Section of the Academy.

On Thursday morning, the Toxicology Annual Lecture will be delivered by Lori Arviso Alvond, MD, Chief, Surgical Services, Banner Page Hospital in Page, AZ. She will speak on The Healing Properties of Navajo Ceremonies in her capacity as Medicine Woman and Native American Medical Doctor.

Dr. Lori Arviso Alvond, MD

Lori Arviso Alvond, MD

Finally, we cannot emphasize how grateful we remain to all of you who volunteered to review abstracts and to moderate sessions, as well as to our generous vendors to date who have committed financial sponsorship towards the Toxicology Section Program: Aegis Sciences Corporation, Agilent Technologies, Inc, Immunalysis Corporation, Lipomed, Inc, NMS Labs, RTI International, and UTAK Laboratories, Inc. Ongoing sponsorship opportunities continue to exist and we urge you to refer your vendors and suppliers to either Section Program Chair, Nikolas Lemos (, or Co-Chair, William (Bill) R. Johnson ( if they are interested in being a part of such an educational event attended by thousands of delegates from dozens of countries.

See you all in The Big Easy!