Young Forensic Scientists Forum 2017-2018 Committee

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.

Source: Brittany N. Beyer, MS, YFSF Secretary

The Young Forensic Scientists Forum (YFSF) is a group of young professionals and students who plan a variety of events at the AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting. The committee this year is a diverse group of individuals who are excited to be planning for the 2018 annual meeting.

Brianna Bermudez is serving her second year as President for the Forum. She graduated from Eastern New Mexico University with a BS in Forensic Science and is a graduate student at Michigan State University in the Forensic Science Masters Program. Her research interests include DNA quantity variation within human long bones.

Brittany Beyer is the YFSF Secretary. Brittany graduated from Franklin College with a BA in Biology and received an MS in Forensic Science from the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is now employed as a forensic analyst in the Biology Division at the Houston Forensic Science Center and has been with the Center since November of 2014. Brittany has been a member of the AAFS since 2013 and is now an Associate Member. In 2017, she assisted with the Young Forensic Scientists Forum Special Session as Co-Chair. Brittany is also recently American Board of Criminalistics (ABC) certified in molecular biology.

The Special Session Chair is Amanda Hale. Amanda is a doctoral student in Zoology at North Carolina State University. She received her MA in Anthropology from North Carolina State University (NCSU) in 2012. She worked in the NCSU Forensic Analysis Lab as a research technician under Ann Ross before pursuing her doctoral degree. Amanda received her training certification in forensic anthropology from the Forensic Anthropology Society of Europe in 2014 and has been a member of the AAFS since 2012. Amanda has been an Associate Member of the Academy since 2016 and has assisted with the YFSF Special Session as Chair and Co-Chair for the past two years.

Alex Krotulski is the Breakfast Session Chair. Alex is a graduate of Loyola University New Orleans (BS) and Arcadia University (MSFS), focusing in forensic toxicology. Currently, Alex serves as a Research Scientist I at the Center for Forensic Science Research & Education, where he is involved in method development and research using state-of-the-art platforms and novel psychoactive substances. Alex maintains an active research agenda and is funded through the National Institute of Justice.

Vienna Lam is serving as the Financial Support Chair. Vienna is a Student Affiliate of the Anthropology Section and a graduate researcher from the Centre for Forensic Research at Simon Fraser University (SFU), Canada. At SFU, Vienna serves on the University Research Ethics Board as a graduate senator, volunteers as a student ambassador, and manages a recovery team for her freshwater taphonomic as the primary investigator and field director.

Jeremy Manheim is a graduate student at Purdue University and is pursuing his PhD in Chemistry. His research focuses on developing novel mass spectrometry instrumentation and techniques, and using mass spectrometry to solve various energy-related problems. This will be Jeremy’s third year as a member of the YFSF.

Alyssa Badgley is the Bring Your Own Slides (BYOS) Chair. Alyssa received her BS in Biology and Forensic and Investigative Sciences from Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI). She is a recent graduate of the Forensic Science Master’s Program at Michigan State University. Her research interests focus on the use of next-generation 16S bacterial profile variation to accurately trace soil evidence to a habitat of origin.

Dante Webb is a Forensic DNA Analyst at Bode Cellmark Forensics. He is a graduate of California State University-Los Angeles and received a BS in Biology.

Zain Bhaloo is serving as the Special Session Co-Chair. Zain received his BScH in Biology and Biotechnology at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario, and his MSc in Forensic Chemistry at Strathclyde University in Glasgow, Scotland. Zain is currently training to become a forensic document examiner with the Canada Border Services Agency.

Erin Houston is serving as the Breakfast Session Co-Chair. She studied criminal justice at Wright State University and forensic biology at The Ohio State University and received her MS in biology from Wright State University. Erin currently works as a DNA technologist trainee at Bode Technology.

Alexandria Anstett is the Bring Your Own Posters (BYOP) Co-Chair. Alex is a graduate of Adrian College and Michigan State University. She has a MS in Forensic Science and her research focuses on characterizing synthetic phenethylamines. Alex recently became employed at a federal agency in New Jersey.

Ashley Foster, originally from Buffalo Grove, IL, graduated with a BS in Forensic Biochemistry from Northern Michigan University in 2013. Ashley completed a master’s program at the University of Nebraska in 2016. Ashley is currently a forensic scientist in the DNA Section of the Texas Department of Public Safety Crime Lab in Austin, TX.